Book Sale

Nearly everyone in my family is fond of books, and we look forward to the thrice yearly used book sale at our library. Last weekend was one of these sales and I purchased many more books at it than I have ever bought at one time before. There was a set of individually bound Shakespeare plays, and, while I wished I could take the whole set, I only picked out a few of my favorite plays, as buying them all was more than I thought I ought to spend. However, when I went to pay for them, they were given to me for half the usual price of hardback books there, because it was a set. So, I went back and fetched them all!

It is a complete 40-volume set called ‘The Yale Shakespeare’. It has 37 volumes of plays, a volume of Shakespeare’s sonnets, a volume of his other poems, and a volume entitled Shakespeare of Stratford: A Handbook for Students. Some of the titles on the books are quite faded and there is some underlining, &c. inside, but the pages are clean, the text is clear, and the binding firm. I am quite happy with them as I have been wanting a set of Shakespeare’s plays individually bound for quite some time! They are so much less cumbersome than hauling around a volume of his complete works.

         

I picked up a few other books as well while I was there:

  • Les Misérables, by Victor Hugo, translated by Charles E. Wilber (hardcover)
  • The Life of Samuel Johnson, by James Boswell, abridged by C. P. Chadsey and illustrated by Gordon Ross (hardcover)
  • The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, by himself (paperback)
  • The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins (paperback)
  • The Pickwick Papers, by Charles Dickens (paperback)
  • The Killer Angels, by Michael Shaara (paperback)
  • The Lady of the Lake, by Sir Walter Scott, condensed (hardcover)

This entry was posted in Housekeeping, Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

