Autumn Book Sale

1 CompleteLast month, I went to a book sale at the library and bought a lot of books! I found several books that I wanted but had looked for in vain at previous book sales: Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell, The Way We Live Now by Anthony Trollope, and The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins. Also by Wilkie Collins, I bought The Woman in White, appropriately decorated with James Whistler’s painting Symphony in White, No. 1 (also known as The White Girl).

2 Wives and Daughters 3 The Way We Live Now 4 The Moonstone 5 The Woman in White

At a previous book sale, I had bought the last eight volumes of a ten volume set of The Complete Works of James Whitcomb Riley. The first two weren’t there. At this book sale, however, I found another set of them, though not in as good condition as mine, and bought volumes 1 & 2. So, now I have a complete set of the works of one of my favorite poets!

6 James Whitcomb Riley 7 JWR title page 8 JWR set completed

Just earlier in the month, I was telling one of my aunts that our book sales never had any good cookbooks — just microwave cooking and diet books and that kind of thing. Well, this sale proved me wrong! I found a big, beautifully illustrated book about chocolate! It has instructions for tempering chocolate along with some chocolate history and that kind of thing. I found a large book of French cooking and a little book of pizza recipes — both full of delightful, full-page, color photographs. I also got a little book called A Decent Cup of Tea which contains “A Brief History of Tea Drinking”, “On Selecting Your Teas”, and, of course, instructions on “How to Make a Decent Cup of Tea”.

9 Cookbooks 10 chocolate 11 chocolate 12 chocolate 13 France 14 France 15 pizza 16 pizza 17 tea 18 tea

I added to my Jane Austen and Shakespeare collections. I bought a copy of Two Guys Read Jane Austen. And my brother found me a gem: A single volume containing Jane Austen’s seven novels! I now own a copy of Lady Susan! I got an illustrated volume of Shakespeare’s complete works and another copy (I already owned a pocket size copy) of Shakespeare’s sonnets. It has color illustrations as well as black and white drawings and matches an illustrated copy of Romeo and Juliet I have.

19 Jane Austen books 20 Two Guys Read Jane Austen 21 JA seven novels 22 Shakespeare 23 Shakespeare 24 Shakespeare 25 Sonnets 26 Sonnets 27 Sonnets with matching Romeo and Juliet

For the rest, I got: a generously illustrated copy of Tennyson’s Poems; an illustrated book of Stephen Foster’s songs; a copy of War and Peace translated by Louise and Aylmer Maude; a pocket-size German-English, English-German dictionary; a little set of German dictionaries (Langenscheidts Lilliput Dictionary English-German and Langenscheidts Lilliput Wörterbuch Deutsch-Englisch, about two inches tall each — so cute!); and a book of paintings by Thomas Kinkade, which I bought by mistake.

28 Tennyson 29 Tennyson 30 Tennyson 31 Stephen Foster 32 Stephen Foster 33 War and Peace 34 War and Peace 35 German dictionaries 36 German dictionaries 37 Kinkade

This entry was posted in Housekeeping, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

